Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun! Anime PV Translation


Japanese Title: となりの怪物くん!
English Title: The monster seated next to me
Genre: Comedy, Romance
Studio: Brain Base

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun! is originally a manga drawn by Robico. The anime started airing on the 2nd October this year.

Story
Mizutani Shizuko (CV: Tomatsu Haruka) is only interested in learning, her grades and her future. That changes, when her homeroom teacher tells her to deliver class printouts her classmate Yoshida Haru (CV: Suzuki Tatsuhita), who is never attending school and seated next to Shizuko. Thanks to Haru’s short temper, delinquent-like demeanor and constant glare, he is avoided and feared by almost every student of his school. Even though he might look scary, he’s really innocent. When she brings comes to Haru’s house to give him the printouts, he believes, that they are friends and thus their “weird” relationship begins. Not long after that, he confesses his love to her. What will Shizuko do?

Opening Theme: Q&A Recital! by Tomatsu Haruka
Ending Theme: White Wishes by 9nine

Thoughts

I know the story is not very original but… Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun! is so funny! Ahahaha… (*≧▽≦)ノシ)) And you really gotta love the characters, especially Haru. He’s not only handsome, but also a carnivorous (horny perv :D) brat. Some of his comments made me laugh so hard, that even tears were coming out. 8D Like when Shizuko asks him, if he does really like her, he answers: “Yeah. I would totally DO you.”  ≖‿≖

I’m not a big fan of Suzuki Tatsuhisa, but I have to admit, that his voice fits Haru perfectly. As I expected Tattsun should voice younger characters and make use of his deep sexy voice more… I had a feeling, that his voice in Wasurenagusa was too young and bratty and therefore didn’t fit Okita?! ( ?´_ゝ`) Well, this anime might convert me into another Tattsun-fan or not. 8D

I watched the first 7 episodes and found it so hilarious, that I’m wondering, how this anime will end. 😀 This anime is more comedy than romance, but the puns just fit my taste so perfectly, that it’s just AWESOME!

If you want a good portion of laugh, then this anime is a good choice!

Seriously, Y U SO CUTE, Haru?? Each time he uses his puppy bishounen smile, I go into fangirl-mode. xD

I actually love this PV because it’s so crazy! That Engrish part is so funny. LMAO
I’m not 100% sure about the last part, because it was quite difficult to understand, so if there are mistakes, please feel free to correct it!

Translation

0:09 – Shizuku: “You have too much power… How…?”
0:13 – Shizuku: “Even though you have nothing and no one to protect… Why?”
0:19 – Haru: “What the…”
0:22 – Shizuku: “Look at me.”
0:23 – Shizuku: “Your family and loved ones are not here, yet you…”
0:27 – Haru: “Really… Really… How many times do you have to tell me???”

0:32 – Shizuku: “Hey Haru!”
0:34 – Shizuku: “You had “gyuudon” for supper last night.”
0:36 – Shizuku: “I can tell by the stink (smell).”
0:39 – Shizuku: “Stay away!”
0:40 – Shizuku: “Your breath smells like the junk. I can hardly breath.”

0:53 – Shizuku: “This gamble brings no gain.”
0:56 – Shizuku: “No matter the winner, let us settle the score.”
1:00 – Haru: “Ah…in a place like this?
1:02 – Haru :”You’re a lot more daring than you look… ”
1:05 – Shizuku:”Haru-san… Could you take** this Mizutani Shizuku?”
1:08 – Haru: “If push came to shove I could.
1:11 – Shizuku: “Fine. Let’s begin…”
1:14 – Haru: “Well then… this is mine.”
1:17 – Shizuku: “Eh…?!”

1:25 – Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun! (The monster seated next to me!)

1:28 – Haru: “…and that’s the dream I had.”
1:31 – Shizuku: “Hmm… Sounds pretty interesting…”

(Edited: Thank you for your corrections, msysh)

5 thoughts on “Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun! Anime PV Translation

  1. I couldn’t resist to comment here too. xD
    To be honest, I’m not a fan of slice of life/shojo anime at first. But I’ve fallen for this one! Haru is so cute when he smiles. ( *.*) And his perv’ side is so blunt it makes me smile everytime. xD I laughed so much at that reply you mentioned.

    I’m kinda biased when it comes to Tattsun. But, I agree with you about his voice in Wasurenagusa. If he had used Haru’s type of voice it could have been much better.

    • You’re welcome! 8D

      Yeah, Haru is SO CUTE!!! And that pervy side of him is just hilarious! I like them blunt, so I’m totally okay with that! 😀 😀

  2. I will right away grab your rss as I can not find your email subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    • Hey there!

      I do have an email subscription newsletter service. You can find it on the right sidebar above the “recent comments” section. 🙂 You just have to press the “Follow” button there.

Leave a Reply

